Haiku for New York City #SOL17

Two weeks ago, during February vacation, my husband and I took the train from Boston to New York City for a quick 2-day visit. He needed to do some research at the New York Public Library for a book he is writing, so I had the better part of an unseasonably warm day to entertain myself. It was the first time I spent any time in the city alone, and I’m not all that comfortable in NYC to begin with, so this was a major accomplishment for me. I didn’t stray too far, wandering up 5th Avenue as far as MoMA and then working my way back to Bryant Park with a few stops along the way.

Rather than write a longer piece about the two days, I decided to write a series of haiku representative of several small moments. I fell in love with haiku several years ago, when I was bumped up to First Grade from Kindergarten for a year and had to teach a unit on Japanese culture. I love the challenge of adhering to haiku’s 5/7/5 parameters. Here goes!


Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 6.07.57 PM

 

 


Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 6.14.08 PM

 


Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 6.19.15 PM


 

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 6.27.25 PM

 

 


screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-9-34-47-am

This post is part of the annual month-long Slice of Life writing challenge organized by Two Writing Teachers. Join us! It’s my first time slicing!

 

14 thoughts on “Haiku for New York City #SOL17

  1. I love the images you made and you poems. The image of the crowded sidewalk is my favorite and I love the way you insert yourself into that poem with the closing line, “Don’t you see me here?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First, I’m a tad jealous of both you and your husband. I wish I could hang out in the NYC Public Library and roam the streets of NYC. Second, I love the images, and your haiku inspire me as I prepare for a trip to Europe next week and have been thinking about how I can slice while I’m away.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I traveled to London, Paris, Rome, and Barcelona two years ago and was in Madrid a couple weeks ago. Next week we’re going to Cinque Terra, Monaco, the French Riviera, Barcelona, and Madrid. I did blog two years ago and last year from Hawaii. I’ll do my best to keep up w/ slicing, but we’ll be very busy seeing as much as possible. I do hope I can return to London; I love it. I’m definitely counting the days!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

