London Through My Senses #SOL17

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.04.09 PM

It is with heavy heart that I share this slice about London today. My husband and I have been most fortunate in that we have both lived in the UK and have visited London many times over the years. We have grown to love the city and it’s people. They are friendly, welcoming, and fabulously diverse. So it was heartbreaking to hear the news of a possible terrorist incident in Westminster yesterday afternoon. Our dear friends who live there are thankfully safe, but shaken to the core. The odd thing is that a London slice of some sort has been sitting in my drafts folder for weeks, and I opened it up again just yesterday morning as I wrote with my students during Writer’s Workshop. That sends shivers up my spine even now.

Our most recent trip to London was the week between Christmas and New Year’s in December 2015. While the entire week was wonderful, there were a few standout moments. After pondering different forms, I settled on using my senses, which I often ask my Kindergarten students to do when writing poetry. It’s time to share my love letter to London with everyone.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.08.25 PM

My eyes SEE the dark night sky lit up with colorful fireworks launched from barges on the serpentine River Thames on New Year’s Eve.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.09.21 PM

My ears HEAR Big Ben striking midnight, ushering in a new year for seemingly all the world to hear.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.07.20 PM

I SMELL spring flowers blooming in Peter Pan’s Kensington Gardens during an unseasonably warm late December day.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.04.55 PM

I savor the TASTE of delicious scones, finger sandwiches, and exquisite pastry served from a 3-tiered silver tray during afternoon tea at historic Brown’s Hotel in Piccadilly.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 9.11.07 PM

I FEEL history in the ancient stones laid by industrious Romans in 430 AD, creating a defensive wall around their city of Londinium.

Sensory memories of my beloved city to last a lifetime.

History, beauty

City of my thoughts and dreams

A place in my heart

— C. Wyman, 2017

This post is part of the annual month-long Slice of Life writing challenge organized by Two Writing Teachers. Join us! It’s my first time slicing, I’m a slice planner, and an early morning slicer, too!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “London Through My Senses #SOL17

  1. Thanks for helping us experience London through all of your senses! It’s sad when these events cause us to turn our attention to places in the world, but encouraging when so much love and support is expressed for others outside of our borders. I’m glad your friends are safe.

    Like

    1. I hope you go, too. You’ll love it. It’s always changing, and there is so much to see. I’ve been to Wimbledon, but not during the tournament. It’s a little crazy. Parks and gardens are around every corner Trains and the wonderful Underground take you everywhere!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

