Spring Has Sprung #SOL17

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 6.48.11 PM

I love to write poetry, but I never write rhyming poetry. I find it very challenging. In my classroom, I am very careful to balance the poetry I read to my students and include in my “Poem of the Week” study, because I don’t want my Kindergarten students to think all poetry rhymes. However, with the onset of spring this week, I decided to give it a go. I love a challenge!

Spring

Buds bursting, birds chirping

Bats cracking, ducks quacking

Breeze blowing, lawn mowing

Kites flying, allergics crying

Egg hunting, cake bundting

Bells ringing, choirs singing

Cats preening, spring cleaning

C. Wyman, 2017

This post is part of the annual month-long Slice of Life writing challenge organized by Two Writing Teachers. Join us! It’s my first year slicing, I’m a planner, and apparently an “Early Morning Slicer,” too!

20 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung #SOL17

  1. Great job with the rhyme. Like you, I love reading and writing poetry, but I don’t often choose to rhyme. It’s challenging and sometimes sacrifices the meaning. This poem bounces like spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am the opposite. I find that I rhyme most of the time (and that was not supposed to be one of them!). The singsonging way of a rhyme reminds me of childhood and RL Stevenson. Your kinders will love all the action in your poem! Maybe you could get them to illustrate it for you – each take a phrase in a line? They’d love it stapled together as a book in the classroom!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This poems does evoke the sense of spring. I too live in Massachusetts, and I’m in need of bringing this season of spring to our neighborhood! Maybe your lyrical words will evoke some changes to this cold-ness we have been experiencing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

