Odd Inspiration #SOL

Inspiration can come from the oddest places and at the strangest times.

IMG_5543

I don’t use a lot of commercially made charts and posters in my classroom, but my Kindergarten writers really like this “Stretch a Sentence” chart. (I think it’s the puppy, honestly!) It visually supports them as they attempt to write more detailed sentences. As I walked into my classroom yesterday, my head spinning with Poetry Month ideas, I wondered if this structure might be used to craft a poem.

IMG_5544During my Writer’s Workshop mini lesson, I shared my idea and my students were excited to give it a try. Working as a whole class, we crafted this poem together about the cardinals that visit our classroom feeder often. Not bad. I love the “bird feast!”

IMG_5545

When we moved to our “10 minutes of no teacher help” writing stamina building time, I gave it a whirl by myself, drawing from words on the “bird” page of my classroom writer’s notebook. During partner feedback time, I received some wonderful “glows” and “grows” from my table partners. One “grow” encouraged me to add a second stanza. I think I will!

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life each Tuesday.

11 thoughts on “Odd Inspiration #SOL

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more that as writers we can get our inspiration from the oddest places. I know I do! I think that’s the beauty of it truthfully! I love your poem and perhaps that second stanza will take form. Oh and the 10 minutes without teacher help…I think that’s brilliant too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

