Kindergarten Poets #PoetryFriday

On this, the final Poetry Friday of National Poetry Month, it is my great pleasure to share the work of two of my most enthusiastic Kindergarten poets: Jonah and Sonya.

Jonah was inspired to write about pastry. Why not? And who doesn’t like a little pastry with their Friday morning coffee! He’s especially proud of his use of an ellipsis. Kindergarten writers LOVE a good ellipsis! (Warning: I’m not sure where Jonah gets his pastry, but it’s a little on the pricey side!)

IMG_5931

Pastry

Pastry are good

Pastry are sweet and…

Sour

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sometimes I provide themes, titles, or prompts for poetry. This winter, while exploring different versions of the classic tale, The Hat, we were inspired to write about hats. Hailey loves hats and all accessories. She’s very fancy, like Fancy Nancy.

IMG_5932

Hat

Hats are big

Hats are small

Hats are fancy

Hats are handsome

Hat

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Late edition: My class wrote this progressive poem after discussing this morning’s foggy weather. Later during choice time, we painted our own watercolor interpretations and wrote a response sentence. This is the work of Anson.

FullSizeRender (2)

Today’s hosts for Poetry Friday are the talented ladies over at Teaching Authors. Be sure to pay them a visit!

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 4.29.19 PM

12 thoughts on “Kindergarten Poets #PoetryFriday

  1. All terrific. I imagine they love using the wonderfully descriptive words! When I worked with those who taught the youngest children, they seemed to love hearing poems with new words. I love that you’re writing poetry with your class.

    Like

  2. I am surprised that I missed your post, Christie, especially since it showcases your young poets. Spring Air is a delightful poem that I hope you share at Springsations. BTW, to prove how serendipitous our meeting and friendship has grown, I just found out that you live and work in Weston. After high school, I traveled from Syracuse, NY to Weston to attend what was then known as Regis Catholic College for Young Women. While I loved the area and the girls I met, I only stayed for 1 1/2 years but I still have fond memories of the beautiful woods nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

