50 Shades of Green Tanka #PoetryFriday

As I drove home from school the other day, I was struck by the number of shades of green all around me. Ever curious, I began to explore the various names given to this tone and noticed many fell into (perhaps) accidental categories — natural objects (pine, sage, fern, moss, leaf), habitats (tropical forest, grassland), and food-related hues (artichoke olives). The result is this green-tinted tanka.

Green Tanka

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tara over at A Teaching Life is graciously hosting this week’s Poetry Friday. Why not join us!

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 6.15.18 PM

 

19 thoughts on “50 Shades of Green Tanka #PoetryFriday

  1. I love color words. They are poetry, you are right. It reminds me of Jennifer Bryant and Melissa Sweet’s book, The Right Word: Roget and his Thesaurus. I loved the way Melissa sweet illustrated with some of Roget’s lists and made them into poetry, as you’ve done here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Having used a shade of green in one of the rooms of my house, I know that it’s a challenge to make a match. Love that you found so many names from nature. Green’s the thing today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, spring! Isn’t nature’s palette just breathtaking? All this talk of green just makes me chuckle a bit – my husband’s grandmother for some reason hated the colour green, and used to celebrate the return of autumn each year, and the disappearance of all the green! She was quite a funny little dear. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m with you, Christie. We’ve had so many rainy, damp days here in Maryland. It has brought out every shade of green. Wonderful tanka!

    Like

Leave a Reply

