Big Girl Camera! #SOL

Sunday was my birthday and I received a special present from my husband — a new camera. He knows I love to take pictures outside and we are going on a fun vacation this summer that will have lots of photo opportunities. It was time for an upgrade from a point-and-shoot to a proper DSLR digital camera. We are jokingly calling it my “big girl” camera. I love the weight of it and how the shutter sounds! CLICK! (The only thing I don’t love is that you have to purchase an additional expensive lens to zoom in on anything. I didn’t know that!)

DSC_0007

It was a beautiful day, so we decided to take the camera out for a test run at Great Meadows National Wildlife Refuge in Concord, MA. This is one of our favorite walks and it’s a great place to bird or look for other creatures.

DSC_0018

Great Meadows is swarming with red-winged blackbirds. They are everywhere and are not afraid to dive-bomb near you!

DSC_0048

One of my favorite birds is the heron. They are so majestic and rather prehistoric looking up close. Here’s one that was posing for me. He knew I was coming!

DSC_0032.JPG

The Concord River, which abuts Great Meadows, is home to many beavers. Their dens dot the shoreline in this stretch of the river.

DSC_0061.JPG

After our walk, we took a picnic (cold steak grilled the night before and potato salad) over to Concord’s famous Old North Bridge, site of the Battle of Concord in 1775. During the summer we frequently picnic on the grounds of the Buttrick house, which overlooks the river and bridge. I consider myself truly fortunate to have such a location a mere 15 minutes from my house.

DSC_0060

What a view. It was hard to leave, but all good things must come to an end. Sunday evening routines beckoned.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Many thanks to the crew at  Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life each Tuesday. Won’t you join us?

12 thoughts on “Big Girl Camera! #SOL

  1. Looks like you are already enjoying your new camera! Living in Massachusetts is grand – surrounded by great areas of open space and history! Thanks for capturing and sharing the beauty in words and pictures.

    Like

  2. Happy belated birthday to you! You have captured some beautiful pictures with your new “big girl” camera! I just recently purchased a “semi-big girl” camera. It allows me to slow down and really search for the beauty that surrounds me. Thanks for sharing and keep snapping those shots. They’re spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday! What a wonderful gift. I keep thinking I might get a “big-girl” camera too, and know about the expensive lens, because I gave one to my grandson on Christmas! Your pictures are gorgeous, and I expect more to come, right?

    Like

  4. Happy Happy Birthday. Just because you have a big girl camera doesn’t mean you have to grow up! Keep that childhood lens alive with your new camera and your very own eyes! Love your pics and your slice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

