I was warned! #SOL

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 1.11.33 PM

“Watch out for the gulls when you’re down at the sea front,” just about everyone warned us during our week in Lyme Regis. “They are everywhere, and they’ll snatch the food right out of your hand!” Of course I heard this cautionary advice time and time again, but since we didn’t eat in exposed areas all that often, I suppose it went in one ear and out the other.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 1.14.44 PM

So there I was minding my own business, nibbling on a delicious Coronation Chicken sandwich, when it happened. I looked away for a split second and “OUCH,” I shrieked! I felt a brief, but sharp pain in the tip of my left pointer finger. There was a speck of blood where I’d been pecked, and my sandwich was gone. How had I not seen it happen? It was all a blur. My husband said one gull pecked at me, forcing me to drop the sandwich, and several gulls descended on the tasty meal that lay before them on the pavement. Several locals passing by just shook their heads in that “Bloody tourists. I told you so” way.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life each Tuesday. Won’t you join us?

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

9 thoughts on “I was warned! #SOL

Leave a Reply

