What’s Your Teaching Story?#SOL

Did you participate in Kathleen’s 6 word challenge over the weekend? Her prompt was: “What is your teaching story, told in a 6 word memoir?” If not, I’m sure she’d love your offering.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 6.17.52 PM

I’m not sure why it didn’t trigger a response about the here and now for me. Instead it dug up the past. When I graduated from college in 1987 (OK, it’s out there. Do the math!), districts were closing schools and RIFing teachers. My then Superintendent father encouraged me to hang on before entering “the family business.” He said things would get better, but they’d take a bit of time. I took his advice and I’m glad I did. For the next ten years I worked in marketing and PR (Labatt’s beer, Chico-San Rice Cakes, RC Cola, John Hancock Life Insurance), gaining terrific work experience and building up my savings for grad school. There were days (and many nights) that were fun, but many that weren’t. I yearned for a job that was rewarding, fulfilling. One that made me feel I was making a difference, and not just forcing a product or service upon someone. Finally I starting taking grad classes one at a time in the evenings. This was a big secret. Nobody knew. I’d dash out the office door in downtown Boston as close to five as I could, hop on the T, and make my way to Cambridge for an evening of study. Just taking one class at a time took quite a while. Years. Eventually it was time for student teaching. I couldn’t work and student teach, so it was time to make my move. Needless to say it shocked everyone at work. I’d never mentioned or let on that I had a plan and now it was time.  And there I went, never looking back.

Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 6.22.18 PM

Click here to read all the responses to Kathleen’s prompt.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life each Tuesday. Won’t you join us?

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

8 thoughts on “What’s Your Teaching Story?#SOL

Leave a Reply

