Our community of writers is growing #SOLSC #SOL21

We end each day in my remote Kindergarten class with Writer’s Workshop. It’s my favorite time of the day, and I believe it has become a favorite for my young writers, too. A mini-lesson with something new to try, calming classical music, quiet time to write or sketch, and then “glows and grows” feedback during sharing. Once fidgety after five minutes, they now beg for more time after 20 minutes and scold me for interrupting them when I call them back with a soft-spoken, “OK, writers. Time to come back. How’d it go today?” We are a community of writers who miraculously grow daily despite the odds.

Yesterday, during that heavenly. quiet stretch, I looked up from my own writing (yes, I write with them, too) to witness this.

We have grown in ways I never expected. Siblings are now joining us. 3- and 4-year olds, and even a few 2s sit close by with crayons, markers, and paper in hand. Inspired, they work away diligently on their latest creative endeavors, too. Sometimes they even ask to share. Our community of writers is growing, and we welcome them with open arms.

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

14 thoughts on “Our community of writers is growing #SOLSC #SOL21

  1. Christie, how I love this Slice. I long for the day when Writer’s Workshop returns to my classroom. I pray it will not be remotely, but if it is, I hope to inspire my group of Scholar-writers the way you have. My favorite line: “Inspired, they work away diligently on their latest creative endeavors.” I think “Our Latest Creative Endeavors” is going to become a bulletin board / a designated space in my next classroom. Thank you for inspiring me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for including those young siblings who yearn to be part of your creative process. We have virtual kindergarten happening in my living room and I try to include the 3 year old in a parallel process…but sometimes he yearns to be part of the school too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have created this community. How wonderful! This time of year is definitely the most rewarding time in a kindergarten classroom when you see all of the gains. Glad you took a moment to savor it all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment