Look out for that tree! #SOLC18

Oh man! Look at the traffic out my classroom window! Can’t go left. Will have to go right and figure it out as I go along. The rain is pounding my windows. Better make sure they are closed tight. I hope the bird feeders are still intact on Monday morning. I can’t believe the birds are still eating from them in these gale force winds and torrential rain.

Only four cars left in the parking lot. Better get out of here. “Never be the last one to leave during bad weather” is my motto!

Here goes. I can do this.

OK. Definitely can’t turn left without a light, but it’s all clear to turn right. This ride home will take longer than usual, but that’s OK. As long as I make it. Here we go. Yikes! Someone must have just moved that limb out of the road and onto the sidewalk. Serious puddling. Better take it slow. Don’t want to flood the engine out.

Wow. Those sections of fencing must have just come down. I don’t remember it looking like that last week when I came this way. More orange “Road Closed” signs. Glad I hadn’t planned to go that way.

Half way there. I can do this.

There goes another Police car flying past. What’s happened now?

Nuts. The traffic lights are out and flashing yellow. Traffic’s heavy. It could take a while to get through this intersection. Better take it slow.

Please don’t let the road be flooded out ahead. The river comes so close to the edge on a good day. I’m not sure where a detour will lead. Good. All clear.

Just a little bit more. I can do this.

So many tall pines bending in the wind. Please just let me get through this stretch without any of them coming down on me.

Phew, I made it. Home safe and sound and now to check for water in the basement and call my family members to see where they are and if they are safe. This nor’easter has hours to go.

************************************************************************************

This post is part of the annual month-long Slice of Life writing challenge organized by Two Writing Teachers. Join us! It’s my second year of Slicing in the challenge. (If you want to take a peek at the Padlet of writing ideas I’ve created, I’m happy to share. Click here! It grows every day.)

15 thoughts on “Look out for that tree! #SOLC18

  1. Yikes! This sounds scary! Your use of internal dialogue makes me feel like I’m right there, sitting in the car right beside you. You will have to keep us posted on how the birds and bird feeders survive the storm.

    Like

  2. Many slices about that nasty storm. I felt like I was in that car with you, but I’m glad I wasn’t driving! Your motto is a smart one – always reassuring knowing someone is behind you! Glad you made it home, safe and sound.

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, Yes! I can relate to your slice so much. You captured the anxiety and astonishment I felt driving home from school yesterday seeing so much damage and with those crazy winds! I teach in Norwood, and it was insane! To say my 5th graders were a bit “distracted” from the wind and rain would be a huge understatement!! 🙂 Happy to say that we also didn’t get water in the basement, (phew) Just a big part of our poor, elderly neighbor’s fence blew down into our yard. Fixable and no biggie considering…We have power, and everyone is safe.. so all good. Hope the same for you and yours and enjoy the weekend!

    Like

  4. Wow, felt I was right with you on that ride home! This could be a great mentor text for students to demonstrate “show, don’t tell”! Glad you made it home safe and sound.

    Like

  5. I remember those days at school watching the snow fall and freaking out. Glad I didn’t have that issue this year and glad you got home safe and sound. I was right there with you,

    Like

  6. Glad you made it home safely. Was an awful storm. It ended up changing to snow here in PA. Had obstacles on my way home, but eventually made it home! Such a sigh of relief!

    Like

  7. I have never thought of writing an entire story using internal dialogue. What a great idea! It certainly made your story come alive.
    And yes – such a storm – living in Hopkinton I came home to leaky logs in my log home and fencing down. I dont want to share my internal dialogue about the scene I came home to – But still – counting my blessings!

    Like

  8. Loved reading your internal dialogue. What a great way to craft your slice dealing with your navigation through the storm. So glad you arrived home without any mishaps.

    Like

  9. I was right there in the car with you, Christie! I agree with Paula that this would be a great mentor text. You could also use it as an example of how to talk yourself through a challenging task. Glad you got home safely!

    Like

  10. Another vote in favor of your clever use of internal dialogue. You pulled me right into that white-knuckle ride with you! I’ve been looking at photos from the storm and am amazed at the destruction. I’m so glad you made it home with only minor inconveniences. I’m also glad we only saw the tail end of this beast up this way!

    Like

  11. Glad you made it home safely. I used to live in Connecticut and have experienced a nor’easter! Laid in bed one night listening to the glass panes creaking! Never thought glass could creak until then. Or maybe my imagination! Enjoyed your post!

    Like

Leave a comment