Depending on when you met me #SOLSC #SOL21

I’m accepting Teach Write buddy Leigh Anne Eck’s invitation to share a “Depending on when you met me” story. You may read her Slice from yesterday here. It tells the story of me in just a few lines. It’s reminiscent of a “Where I’m from” poem. I’m looking forward to learning more about you!

Depending on when you met me, I might have been: skipping down the sidewalk in a hand-smocked dress sewn lovingly by my mother, perched in my father’s lap, listening to Paddington and Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, searching for beach glass and skipping stones on Peaks Island in Maine with my older sister, wielding my two-handed backhand during a high school tennis match, proudly walking across the stage at Wheaton College (MA) and Lesley University commencements, tucking into haggis, tatties, and neeps while studying the poetry of Robert Burns at the University of Stirling in my motherland of Scotland, crouched terrified, yet enraptured, on the floor of a Ugandan rainforest with a family of gorillas, on my hands and knees digging for Roman artifacts along Hadrian’s Wall in South Shields during an Olympic and jubilee summer, gathered around a vernal pool teeming with life with a gaggle of Kindergarten scientists, or scribbling haiku and tanka in my notebook.

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

9 thoughts on “Depending on when you met me #SOLSC #SOL21

  1. I love this! Your story in just one sentence. I haven’t taken the party invitation yet. I love imagining you with gorillas. And then, of course, your little ones around a vernal pool! Love it!

    Like

  2. Thank you for joining! I have really loved this ID idea because I am learning so much about people. And so much of the list could be individual slices too. I didn’t realize you were such a world traveler! Wow, some great experiences. God bless you kindergarten teachers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like that your story is one sentence. You have lived an exciting and adventurous life. Yours is the second “Depending On When You Met Me” Slice I have read today. I think I’ll notebook this one today. Glad to know you a little bit more.

    Like

  4. I have been hopping to read different IDs that Leigh Anne links to her blog – so interesting. “on the floor of a Ugandan rainforest with a family of gorillas” – this is a rare thing people can say.

    Like

  5. Christie, what a wonderful slice! When you get the time, I’d appreciate a separate accounting of all nine (or so, depending on how you count them) possibilities. I don’t doubt your two-handed backhand was (is) formidable, and of course I’m intrigued by all of your overseas travel. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  6. Love reading all your identities featured here. I had a mother who lovingly hand smocked many of my Easter dresses. My favorite has to be “crouched terrified, yet enraptured, on the floor of a Ugandan rainforest with a family of gorillas”!

    Like

  7. You sent me down a wormhole! After enjoying your ID, I have been reading all the others on Leigh Anne’s link. Thank you for that. You’ve experienced some truly amazing experiences. At first, I felt we had much in common with our home sewn clothes and skipping stones. Then, I got to the “crouched terrified, yet enraptured, on the floor of a Ugandan rainforest with a family of gorillas” and realized you are way braver than me, although one must be slightly brave to be a kindergarten teacher. I am a retired kindergarten teacher. I think I’ll join the ID party.

    Like

Leave a comment