Can it be Mandarin Orange Chicken Night? #SOLSC #SOL21

This is going to sound really strange, but I love the last Friday night of every month. Seriously, don’t laugh. Promise?

I can’t for the life of me remember how this began, but the last Friday of every month is Trader Joe’s Mandarin Orange Chicken night in our house. It’s a pandemic thing, I guess. Have you ever tried it? If you listen to the Inside Trader Joe’s podcast, you’ll know that it’s one of their top-selling items. Quite frankly, it’s addictive. It’s also not the healthiest thing on the planet. Once a month makes it a treat. A frozen dinner from TJ’s is a treat? Just try it. You’ll see. A little sweet, a little savory, crunchy, chewy, and all in under 30 minutes.

So on Thursday afternoon, on our way home after a long, stress-filled day, when my husband asked if tonight could be Mandarin Orange Chicken night, you can guess what my response was.

Where are my people? Devotees of Trader Joe’s Mandarin Orange Chicken unite!

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

11 thoughts on “Can it be Mandarin Orange Chicken Night? #SOLSC #SOL21

  1. I love having regular rituals, especially dinner rituals, to count on. I have to confess that not only have I never had Trader Joe’s Mandarin Orange Chicken, I’ve never even been to a Trader Joe’s! We moved this year to an area that has plenty of them, so post-pandemic, I will definitely be shopping there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment