I can’t believe you came! #SOLSC23

“I can’t believe you came!”

How could we not go? We knew everyone in the cast of Shrek the Musical Jr. The production was only open to fourth and fifth graders and the school my husband teaches at is only fourth and fifth graders. Essentially, it was a school play, just put on by the town’s junior branch of the local theatrical society. And I had so many of them in KIndergarten at my lower elementary school just across the street.

It was a joyous production on a dreary late winter Saturday afternoon. We laughed, we beamed with pride, and then to see the looks on their faces as they came out from behind the stage at the close of the performance was priceless. It was a sign that we care about more than how they perform during the school day. It was a sign that supporting them in all aspects of their lives is important. Wasn’t an investment of two hours on a Saturday afternoon worth it? You know it!

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

6 thoughts on “I can’t believe you came! #SOLSC23

  1. I loved the joy in your post. I am happy you took the time to watch the show and then share the joyful emotions with us.

    Like

  2. I love when teachers go to student things outside of school. I remember when my own children were students (I was not teaching then) and how much that meant to them. And they do notice!

    Like

Leave a comment