“Couldn’t kids do that?” #SOLC19

“I’m just going to scribble a little before I get started with my writing, Mrs. Wyman.”

“Did you know I do that, too?”

“You do? Where do you do the scribbling? I’m going to use this little whiteboard.”

“I do my scribbles in a special notebook.”

“What does your notebook look like? Can I see it?”

“Of course. It’s at home. Would you like me to bring it in?”

“Yes. I’d love to see it. I bet the other kids would like to see it, too.”

“I’ll write myself a note to remember to bring it on Monday.”

“Great. Couldn’t kids do that? Scribble before they start writing?

It helps me feel ready.”

“It helps me feel ready, too.

Let’s tell the other kids about it together, shall we?”

“Yes!” (fist pump in the air)

***************************************************************

This post is part of the annual month-long Slice of Life writing challenge organized by Two Writing Teachers. Join us! It’s my third year of slicing in the challenge and I’m looking forward to writing and learning along with all of you.

Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.52.07 AM

 

 

 

9 thoughts on ““Couldn’t kids do that?” #SOLC19

  1. This is how being a teacher who writes makes the best writing teachers! Way to lead by example, Christie, and share your writing process with your littles. I bet they loved seeing you scribble, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So authentic! Writers have strategies and it’s so cool that he wants to share his (and that he thinks of the other little writers in the class when he learns about your notebook).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment