Time for a snowshoe break! #SOL21

“Time for a snowshoe break!”

It’s a report card weekend, the second of two. We are a standards-based district, so our report cards include lengthy, descriptive, narrative comments. Hours on end glued to the computer screen. And that’s after hours on end ZOOMing with my remote Kindergarten students and hours on end reviewing student work on Seesaw, and hours on end replying with hopefully meaningful feedback.

When my husband yelled up the stairs, “Time for lunch and a snowshoe break, ” he didn’t have to ask me twice! We jumped in the car, and off we went. Cliches were in abundance! The sky was blue, the clouds were cottonball-fluffy, the sun near blinding as it reflected off the snow, and the air refreshing. We trudged across our small town’s public golf course, around water features, under leafless trees, down steep hills dodging joyful sledders — their squeals and laughter ringing out through the crisp wintery air.

Now about those report card comments.

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

8 thoughts on “Time for a snowshoe break! #SOL21

  1. Christie, I’m jealous of your opportunity to snowshoe. I didn’t do it when I had the chance while growing up in Ohio, and, well, there’s not usually that much snow here in Alabama. It’s on my list of things I’d like to do someday, though!

    I have to say, I love your line, “Cliches were in abundance!” Too much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did the same thing over the weekend. A get away from the screen break to go outside in blue sky, sunshine and newly fallen snow. My husband and I snowshoed around a lake at a park. I felt so refreshed until I saw that number of posts to look at in Seesaw. It was lovely while it lasted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment