Take our picture! #SOLSC23

Every morning they come in and get right to work. Not the kind of morning work you are thinking of, though.

I’ll be honest. I’m not a huge fan of morning work. Would you want someone handing you a form to fill out not long after you’d woken up? Before your coffee had kicked in?

We are a soft start Kindergarten classroom. We look at books, visit with friends, color, or maybe build for the first 15-20 minutes of the day, and then we begin our Morning Meeting.

There is a small group of girls who choose the same soft start almost every morning without fail. They LOVE Magna Tiles! And every morning they build essentially the same tower. Sometimes it’s fancy, sometimes it’s simple. And the fun part? They build on top of a cluster of four desks and, as their tower climbs higher and higher, they climb up onto the desks. I, of course, keep a watchful eye out for their safety.

Each building session ends the same way — “Take our picture!” — and of course, I do. Wouldn’t you?

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

11 thoughts on “Take our picture! #SOLSC23

  1. I love how you captured their picture. Some cool effects I need to explore in my free time. The soft start seems like such a humane way to start the day. Thank you for sharing and inspiring some exploration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your soft start to the day. I always felt that silent reading was a soft start to the time students spent in my room in middle school. However, it wasn’t always everyone’s activity of choice. Hard to implement when our time was limited to short periods.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a treasure for me to find! I’m retired from teaching preschool, and I remember fondly the hard work of the Magna Tile tables. I love these builders, our future engineers and architects. I love the special effects of your photo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment