The Tree #SOLC23

I see the tree out the bedroom window

This time each year it begins to stand out from the rest

It is the first to bud

But by the time the others begin to display

It blends in and becomes lost

Lost in the shuffle of rebirth from the earth

From late fall until early spring

The tree is just like the others

Waiting for its turn

But it likes to go first

The tree is a green so special

Its yellowy-green hue is full of life

It calls out, “Notice me!”

The tree is an old friend who has been away

But wants me to know it is back in town

The tree makes me smile

The tree gives me hope

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

5 thoughts on “The Tree #SOLC23

  1. I love that you feel that the tree is calling out to you. I felt that way in the poem I wrote for my post today. I felt like a squirrel, chickadee, flowers and the sun were telling me to take notice and enjoy this glorious spring day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment