Butterfly Dances #PoetryFriday

Happy Poetry Friday the 13th, everyone! Sylvia Vardell at Poetry For Children is our gracious hostess this fine Friday. Don’t miss her exciting news about the latest addition to the Poetry Friday Anthology series, Great Morning! Poetry for School Leaders to Read Aloud. I can’t wait to gift a copy to my principal for use during our new all-school Morning Mindful Moments and school meetings. So many of our Poetry Friday friends are featured in this collection. Bravo!

My poetic muse up and left me during the final weeks of the school year, but she’s back! She flittered and fluttered her way back into my psyche as I watered one of my garden beds the other morning. I planted milkweed seeds back in the spring in hopes of attracting monarchs, and had completely forgotten about them until I returned from a week’s vacation. Not only were the milkweeds there, but the visitors I’d been hoping for had arrived. Bee balm is also on their menu, too.

The seeds for this tanka came to me as I watched this beauty dance in celebration of summer’s bountiful pollinator feast. Now I’m on egg watch!

Butterfly Dances.png
butterfly dances joyfully from stem to stem gathering nectar from midsummer’s bright blossoms if you plant it they will come

************************************************************

I hope you’ll join Sylvia and the rest of us for some Poetry Friday fun today!

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 6.15.18 PM

 

 

14 thoughts on “Butterfly Dances #PoetryFriday

  1. Oh, I’m so glad your muse is back…I’m sure she simply needed a rest to restore her spirit before getting you back to the word work. I love the word “gather” I find that I use it alot. I love the whole idea of bringing things toward self….gathering nectar is definitely a summer gem activity. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad your muse returned–you might want to have a talk with her about leaving you high and dry …I like your ending Christie,
    “if you plant it they will come”
    I love this time of year in my milkweed + garden. There are many monarchs, bees, and other butterflies flittering around busily about the flowers on the milkweed, thanks, and enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a lovely tanka, and I’m so glad your muse is back! Muses and the last few weeks of school do not go well together, I find. Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome back, Muse! I love the “if you plant them, they will come.” I found monarch caterpillars on our milkweed last year, but they ate all the leaves before I could find any cocoons. Hopefully, there is more this year to go around.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment