But you can’t be out of stickers! #SOL20 #SOLSC20

As soon as our Team meeting ended I dashed for my car. I plugged my phone in, fired up a podcast to listen to, and off I went. I promised my husband we could drive up to our polling place together to vote. When I arrived home he wasn’t ready. He dawdled, and I said, “Let’s go!” He began telling me about his day, and I said, “Tell me in the car! It’s getting late!”

The parking lot at the Middle School was full. That’s always a good sign. We waited for a minute before it was our turn to check in. “Street, please.” “House number, please.” “Here you go!”

Off we went to carefully fill in our bubbles with black marker. Carefully, ever so carefully, I fulfilled my civic duty. Such a powerful moment. Think about all of the people around the world who either don’t have the opportunity to vote or do vote, but some mysterious shenanigans happen behind the scenes. We really are so very lucky to live in a democracy where our voices matter and count.

Having finished filling in my bubbles, I walked towards the checkout. “Street, please.” “House number, please.” “Face down in the box, please. Oh, and I hope you didn’t want a sticker, because we ran out a long time ago. For some reason everyone wanted a sticker today!”

“But you can’t be out of stickers,” I said. I’d been looking forward to slapping that on all day. “I’m afraid we are. Like I said, for some reason everyone wanted a sticker today.”

That’s always a good sign!

***********************************************

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. Many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

 

14 thoughts on “But you can’t be out of stickers! #SOL20 #SOLSC20

  1. We all want the sticker! The evidence to say proudly that we exercised our right to make a difference. I love your slice…your explicit details. I could picture this event happening in my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ran out of stickers-Imagine that! You have a lot of voters in your area and that is indeed a good thing. My daugther took her baby and Sierra to the voting polls and the girls proudly wore their stickers along with their red, white and blue hair ribbons. We want them to grow to appreciate being an American.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment