Dear husband. I’m nervous. #SOLC20 #SOL20

Dear husband,

I’m nervous. You are downtown working at the Food Pantry and I can’t protect you. I wanted to help, too, but my Principal booked a Cabinet meeting and I needed to be there. It’s our first virtual Cabinet meeting since “School from Home” began last Thursday. The grade leaders need to touch base about how things are going.

I’m nervous. You are a selfless and giving soul who is always concerned about those less fortunate, but especially during this challenging time. I wish I was there, too, to help take orders, put bags together, and hand them out. I will be there next week if they are allowed to stay open. Not sure what will happen if a Shelter in Place order is announced either for the town or the state of Massachusetts.

I’m nervous. I know that I sent you off with a mask I’d saved and that you have your winter gloves on. I know the clients won’t be leaving their cars. I know you’ll stay as far away from their vehicles as you can.

But I’m nervous. I have a license (marriage, that is) to be.

Love,

Me

Scott Food Pantry

***********************************************

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. Many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

 

8 thoughts on “Dear husband. I’m nervous. #SOLC20 #SOL20

  1. I understand your fear. It’s hard to let loved ones leave the nest during this time. You just don’t know what’s out there. And while we know we will take the proper precautions, it’s hard to know about others. Especially others who may not be able to or aren’t aware of the seriousness of this pandemic. Hang in there!

    Like

  2. I love the letter format of your slice today as it really conveys the strong bond you share with your kind, giving husband. I hope that he remains safe and appreciate that he is making himself available to those in need during these uncertain times.

    Like

  3. My husband could be writing this letter to me. He didn’t want me to go to our local food pantry to help, but I have assured him we are being careful and I’m worried about our clients who do not have food security. These are such tough times with tough decisions to make.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We are under a stay at home order for the next two weeks, but my husband works in a supermarket, and I am so worried for him. Blessed he can still work but wish he didn’t have to. 💔

    Like

  5. Great slice that so many of us could be writing to a loved one. I also loved your line that you have a license to worried. I have been dealing with the food security needs of our students the past few days. The need and worry are real on both sides.

    Like

Leave a comment