I finally had one. Have you? #SOLC20 #SOL20

It finally happened.

A meltdown.

Not a five-year-old’s meltdown, but an adult

  • I’m worried about my 84-year-old parents
  • I’m worried about continuing to volunteer at the Food Pantry
  • I’m worried about what will happen if the Food Pantry is forced to close
  • I’m worried about my sister, her family, and our extended family
  • I’m worried about two unemployed family members
  • I’m worried about friends and family who live alone
  • I’m worried about my students and their families
  • I’m worried that those families don’t understand my worries
  • I’m worried about the lessons I have to plan
  • I’m worried about having to master Seesaw, Zoom, and Google Meet overnight
  • I’m worried about my drastic increase in screen time because of the above
  • I’m worried that we are pushing out too much
  • I’m worried about their drastic increase in screen time because of the above
  • I’m worried about not getting enough exercise
  • I’m worried about Netflix crashing
  • I’m worried about toilet paper

So there it is. All my worries finally got the better of me. I finally had one. Have you?

It’s ok. We’ll be ok.

It’s ok. We’ll be ok.

It’s ok. We’ll be ok.

***********************************************

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. Many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-2-05-35-pm

 

11 thoughts on “I finally had one. Have you? #SOLC20 #SOL20

  1. Today on my walk I worried that the internet would go down – like the whole thing! OI! Hopefully writing out the list made it feel better at least momentarily. It gave your anxiety a place to pause.

    Like

  2. I was out walking the other day and was talking with a neighbor. The tears just welled up quicker than I could control them. I lost it right there in the middle of the road. It’s going to happen and like grief, we can’t predict how or when. Stay strong! We are all in this together. And there’s still poetry!

    Like

  3. We are all there with you. The fear and uncertainty has us all on the verge of a meltdown. as we navigate the same worries you are worrying. We might be physically distant, but our spirits are united.

    Like

  4. Not a complete meltdown yet, but it may be coming. I am feeling, like many I’m sure, as though I am not doing a very good job of anything right now. Parent, teacher, wife, daughter… I am still struggling with accomplishing any one task. Scattered. I am scattered.

    Like

  5. Understandable AND acceptable to have a list of worries. I hope that by writing them down, they seem a bit less heavy.
    Yesterday was my day. It prompted me to put a new mantra on my message board so it sinks in.
    I am well.
    You are well.
    We are well.

    Be well!

    Like

  6. Not a full meltdown but highest level of frustration (yet) happened yesterday. People disagreeing on how things should be handled left many of us in the dark. Things were supposed to be done, but no one knew what or when or where and then when it was decided, it seemed to change all day. Deep breath….we go “live” next week.

    Like

  7. Wait – did I write this? It certainly sounds like my words, feelings and emotions. I have been holding it in too long and I know a post – or a meltdown – is coming soon.

    Like

Leave a comment