Is that Mr. Wyman waiting for you? #SOL21

It all began with this text from my principal. I was at home on a union executive committee ZOOM at 3:30pm on Wednesday. I had been on a ZOOM with her and my grade-level team just over an hour earlier and I thought it was pretty obvious from my classroom-at-home background that I was at home — lavender-painted walls (not my choice), twinkly fairy lights, metal car oil drain pan-cum magnetic “bulletin board” with number lines, alphabet lines, Fundations sound card pocket chart, etc… I teach my remote Kindergarteners from home at least once a week, so my students, co-workers, and Admin know my backdrop well, so this question concerned me. Endless possibilities flooded my head instantly — most not so good.

And then the response arrived.

Indeed that was my husband outside my school. The school I was not at that day. The school he did not drop me off at that day. We commute together most days, but not that day nor any other Wednesday for the last five months. He was clearly a.) tired from monitoring middle school-aged faculty kids remote schooling and b.) on auto-pilot. I had been wondering where he had gone, having emailed me to say he was on his way home close to two hours earlier. Our commute is just over 30 minutes, so he should have been home ages ago. Possibilities had been running through my head — stopped at the library for curbside pickup, drove over to Concord center for a valentine card or gift for me (hah!), or ran into a favorite custodian on his way out and got deep into a conversation. All reasonable possibilities.

But no. There he was. Sitting in the car, sun pouring in, dozing like a cat. There was only one thing to do.

I’m glad I was able to end her day with a giggle.

Thanks for wondering and wandering a bit with me today. And many thanks to the crew at Two Writing Teachers, and the extended SOL community, for giving us the time, space, and encouragement to live the writerly life here every Tuesday throughout the year and daily during the month of March.

8 thoughts on “Is that Mr. Wyman waiting for you? #SOL21

  1. I love this! It sounds like it could SO easily happen to me/mine and you guys are a lot younger!!! Too funny and I love your principal. I “forced” my hubby to go and stay in at a motel yesterday because of a bad storm prediction so he could get to his important dental visit this am. (He has a dentist a little over an hour away and he loves the guy with good reason….ok). According to predictions he would have had to drive there in terrible weather (dangerous conditions) and home again. Anyhow, he had a little vacay at a nice B&B and should arrive home in a bit with his tooth in better shape. Then we head to different re-check later this week and face more bad weather travel, followed by Covid vaccine #2 next week. Hooray. I could go on with the similar examples but……it is good he was safe, trying to be sure you were ok, and obviously he is a hard-worker!!! Nice to enjoy this chuckle, Christie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How funny! We do a lot of car pick-up dancing between the three of us and two cars. But I can’t say that anyone has taken a nap! It’s a good thing someone saw him or might still be there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment